About FCDA


We are the local gateway for business expansions and relocations in Franklin County. In addition to local and state incentives, our services include site and facility location assistance, gap financing, business plan development and workforce recruitment. Got a question about a business matter? Give Karen a call at 641-456-5668.


”The Franklin County Development Association, partnering with area organizations and individuals, will lead county-wide economic growth through job retention and job creation, and support community development projects to improve the quality of life for the residents of Franklin County.”

Yes we have a mission statement and no, I don't think anyone has it memorized. We are an organization that knows what we need to do so we get on it and get it done.


Franklin County Development Association is a duly incorporated 501(c) 6, organized in 1980 for the purpose of business growth and development in Franklin County. We are a private, non-profit organization and our fiscal year runs from July 1 - June 30. FCDA is governed by a volunteer board of directors who meet on a monthly basis plus one annual membership meeting. The board provides general policy and oversight. Regular minutes and financial records are maintained in the company's corporate offices with oversight by a certified public accountant.


FCDA offices are located in the Center One office building located at 5 First St. S.W., Hampton, Iowa. FCDA employs one full-time executive director, Karen L. Mitchell and an administrative assistant. Karen brings 18 years of experience in economic development and is graduated from the University of Oklahoma Economic Development Institute and Iowa State University Extension Non-Profit Management.


Businesses benefit from the diverse and experienced members who serve on the Board of Directors. Our county-wide viewpoint plus deep experience in industry, commercial, financing, entrepreneurship, utilities, insurance and law all combine to provide a great vision and practical knowledge about the needs of business.

2017-18 Board of Directors

Rick Whalen - President

John Trewin - Vice President

Ryan Harvey - Treasurer

John Latham - Past President

Gary McVicker

Ron Dunt

Brian Buresh

Kevin Westaby

Doug Pralle

Dale Calendine